Back to All Events

Seeking Nominations for Tom and Ann Moore Peace and Justice Award

Ecumenical Campus Ministries (ECM) seeks nominations for an individual and a community organization whose work exemplifies the group’s goals of peace, mutual respect, and generosity.  

The Tom and Anne Moore Peace and Justice Award has been awarded since 1994 to individuals and organizations whose work on a local, national, or international level has advanced peace and justice.  All Douglas County residents and organizations are eligible for the award.

2017 winners catholic charities.jpg

2017 Tom & Anne Moore Peace and Justice Award Winning organization, Catholic Charities.  Staff from the Charity are standing around the newly plant Peace Pole in Centennial Park

Longtime Lawrence residents, the Moores were among the founders of the Lawrence Coalition for Peace and Justice. Until this year, this award was graciously managed by the Lawrence Coalition for Peace and Justice. Tom Moore was the director of the University of Kansas YMCA for 23 years and his wife, Anne Moore, ran the volunteer clearinghouse for Volunteers in Service to America and was herself an active volunteer.  The couple was also active in the local Oread Friends Meeting.

Recent winners include Centro Hispano (for working diligently to connect Spanish-speaking families and individuals to services around town and throughout Kansas);  Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas (for offering a wide range of specialized programs and services to people of all ages and incomes); and Marilyn Hull (for helping communities launch, grow and sustain health initiatives that make it easier for people to live long, healthy lives).

Nominations are to be made in the form of a letter, not to exceed 250 words, describing the person or organization’s contribution to peace and justice.  Supporting documentation such as newspaper stories or endorsements may be included. Those submitting nominations are asked to include their names and phone numbers.  

Nominations can be emailed with Moore Award in the subject line, or mailed to ECM, 1204 Oread Ave, Lawrence, KS 66044. Nomination deadline is May 1, 2019.  

Nominees not previously awarded, may be nominated again with the approval of the nominee.  Winners will receive their awards at a forthcoming ceremony in their honor.